Press Releases

30th Anniversary Year of Milken Educator Awards Continues in Arizona and Colorado

Feb 16, 2017

FEB. 16th, 2017 - This week Lowell Milken traveled to Rim Rock Elementary in Fruita, Colorado, and Rogers Ranch School in Laveen, Arizona, where he honored exceptional educators in front of their students and colleagues in surprise assemblies.

On Feb 13th, Milken Family Foundation Chairman and Co-Founder Lowell Milken and Colorado Commissioner of Education Dr. Katy Anthes surprised math teacher Felicia Casto with the Milken Educator Award during a morning assembly. Teachers and students cheered Casto forward to accept the Award as Mesa County Valley School District 51 Superintendent Steve Schultz and veteran Milken Educator Award recipients were also present to offer well-deserved congratulations. Casto is the first recipient from the Mesa County Valley School District 51 to be awarded since 2002.

"Felicia Casto is a dedicated teacher and learner who constantly sharpens her own professional mindset through cutting-edge research and techniques," said Lowell Milken. "Her innovative ideas and knowledge sharing directly result in teacher effectiveness, student growth and parent involvement. Only a talented educator has the charisma to make Family Math Nights popular entertainment."

"The Milken Award is a prestigious honor for an educator. As a dedicated and innovative teacher, Ms. Casto has inspired both students and her fellow teachers," said Superintendent Schultz. "She is a perfect candidate for this honor and a valuable member of our District 51 team."

Felicia Casto is schooling the students at Rim Rock Elementary in a new language: she's teaching them to "speak math." As the enrichment teacher at Rim Rock, a pre-K through fifth-grade school, Casto works with students in grades kindergarten through five weekly, either before school or during the day, and also coaches Rim Rock's teachers. Because of Casto, both students and teachers have embraced a growth mindset, taking on challenges and constantly looking for ways to improve outcomes. And improve they do: most students who work with Casto show a year's growth or more, and the school's reading and math scores rival state averages.

At the district level, Casto is working on a new K-12 math rubric which will impact the district's more than 21,000 students. The district is moving to performance-based learning, and Casto is helping to define mastery, develop common assessments and create a unified curriculum. She immerses herself in the latest research and shares her knowledge freely, driving discussions with colleagues and administrators about the implications for students. Casto also provides guidance and leadership during Professional Learning Community (PLC) meetings at Rim Rock, helping grade-level and vertical teams analyze data and develop assessments. She was one of 12 teachers selected as a K-2 Formative Task Reviewer for PARCC (Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers).

On Wed. Feb 15th,  Lowell Milken and Arizona Superintendent of Public Instruction Diane Douglas and Laveen Elementary School District Superintendent Dr. Bill Johnson recognized Rogers Ranch School Principal Timothy Thomas for his outstanding instructional leadership and curriculum development during a surprise all-school assembly.

"Where others see challenges, Timothy Thomas sees potential. He knows how to level the playing field and provide educational opportunities for achievement, regardless of the socio-economic conditions of the students or school he serves," said Lowell Milken. "To turn around one school is quite a feat, but to turn around two schools is exceptional and a road map for others to follow. Timothy is that special type of leader all schools deserve."

Thomas is the only Milken Educator Award recipient from Arizona this year, and the first from the Laveen Elementary School District. Before joining Rogers Ranch, Thomas led a similarly successful turnaround effort as principal of Cordova Middle School in Phoenix's Alhambra Elementary School District. In Thomas' first year, the school beat state and district averages in student achievement, led the district in student and teacher attendance, and became Alhambra's highest-performing middle school.

This season marks the 30th year of the Milken Educator Awards, hailed by Teacher magazine as the "Oscars of Teaching." To learn more about the Milken Educator Award please visit




Principal Omar Duron Wins Arizona Milken Educator Award

Jennifer Williams Surprised with Louisiana Milken Educator Award

2019 Lowell Milken Founder's Award Goes to Wildflower School in Goodyear, AZ

STEM Teacher Nichole Anderson Receives Milken Educator Award

2010-19 Missouri Milken Educator Therese Shain Shares Big News

Angie Beavin wins Milken Educator Award in Kentucky

Erica Stephens Accepting 2018 Tenneesee Milken Educator Award

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins 2018 Milken Award

Kansas 2018 Milken Educator Award Recipient Linda Dishman

West Goshen Elementary School Named 2018 TAP Founder's Award Recipient

Teacher Theresa Cross Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Principal Debreon Davis Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Receives Milken Educator Award

Lisa Rodgers Announced as this year's Colorado Milken Educator Award Recipient

Lowell Milken's James Bryant Conant Award Acceptance Speech

Lowell Milken Congratulates 2015 Milken Educator John Lary

Lowell Milken Speaks at 2015 Chapman University Commencement

Lowell Milken with Students at Friendly House Academia del Pueblo Elementary Charter School

Lowell Milken Keynote Address at 2017 TAP Conference

Felicia Casto wins Milken Educator Award at Rim Rock Elementary

Lowell Milken Speaks with Students at East End Prep in Nashville, TN

Ryan James Presented with 2017 Milken Educator Award in Richmond, Virginia

Lowell Milken, Tom Torlakson and Wayne Jospeh at 2017 Milken Educator Award Presentation

Lowell Milken Accepts 2017 James Bryant Conant Award

Media Interviews at Devon Willis-Jones Milken Educator Awards Assembly


Lowell Milken Presents Music Teacher Nicolas Jacques with Nevada Milken Educator Award

Computer Teacher Nichole Anderson Surprise with Milken Educator Award

Missouri Teacher Therese Shain Receives Milken Educator Award

Angie Beavin Surprised with Kentucky Milken Educator Award

Principal Wendy Shirey Receives Nevada Milken Educator Award

Sarah Szymanski Wins Colorado Milken Award

Math Teacher Erica Stephens Wins Tennessee Milken Award in Memphis, TN

Heather Hurt Announced as 2018-19 Alabama Milken Educator Awardee

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins Milken Award

Perry Township Schools Receives First-Ever National Award of Excellence for Educator Effectiveness

AZ Science Teacher Jonathan Cadena Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Math Teacher Angela Boxie Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Chino Hills Teacher Alexis King Receives 2017 Milken Educator Award

G.W. Carver Primary School Wins 2017 TAP Founder's Award

Arizona Teacher Ana Gutierrez Receives Milken Educator Award

Milken Archive Releases Retrospective Documentary