Press Releases

National Institute for Excellence in Teaching Receives Federal TIF Grant

Sep 30, 2016

Santa Monica, CA—The National Institute for Excellence in Teaching (NIET) has received a $49 million, five-year federal Teacher Incentive Fund (TIF) grant. In partnership with 12 Louisiana school districts, the grant will be used to improve the effectiveness of teachers and school leaders and increase student achievement in some of the highest-need schools in the state, totally eighty-nine schools across six parishes and six charter schools.

tif grant 2016

"NIET's work for over a decade has focused on advancing educator effectiveness," NIET Chief Executive Officer Dr. Gary Stark said. "I am excited about this statewide collaboration to advance principal and teacher leadership. We look forward to working with educators across Louisiana."  

The funds allows districts to use practices and structures that have been tested, adjusted and proven effective in high-need schools. These include:

  • Using research-based teaching standards to guide classroom instruction
  • Developing school-based professional learning
  • Creating teacher leadership opportunities
  • Working with school leaders to build distributed leadership teams
  • Integrating performance measures into compensation systems
  • Supporting new teachers to enter classrooms and be effective on day one

"NIET's track record of success in supporting high-need districts to improve classroom instruction is based on elements that are aligned with our priorities at the state level," Louisiana Superintendent of Education John White said.

The grant partners are the parishes of DeSoto, East Feliciana, Madison, Orleans, Rapides and Saint John the Baptist as well as New Orleans charters Algiers Technology Academy, Eisenhower Academy, Landry-Walker High, McDonogh #32 Charter, Fischer Academy, and Martin Behrman Academy.  

Local superintendents are eager to put these practices into action.

"We know that to attract and retain talented teachers and school leaders, we must make great classroom teaching the driving focus of our efforts," Orleans Parish Superintendent Dr. Henderson Lewis said. "The work in this grant will increase our success in attracting, retaining, developing and motivating a highly effective staff, which will enable us to close achievement gaps and help students to meet academic goals."

Rapides Parish Superintendent Nason Authement added, "This effort demonstrates our commitment to turning around our chronically low-performing schools by focusing on creating great teachers and school leaders."

Having multiple districts collaborating and sharing best practices is a valuable benefit, not only in the ability to replicate what works, but also in broadening the impact of those practices to a larger number of teachers and students.

"We see tremendous value in working with other districts on this initiative," noted Saint John the Baptist Parish Superintendent Kevin George. "This will enable us to learn from others and to demonstrate the impact across multiple communities."

The grant project is designed also to improve teacher effectiveness and promote equitable access to effective educators in alignment with the Louisiana State Equity Plan.

The TIF grant expands upon a long history of work in Louisiana by NIET that dates back to the implementation of the TAP System beginning in 2004. The success of the TAP System in building structures for teacher leadership, collaboration, performance-based measurement of classroom practice, and significant observation and feedback for every teacher is evidenced in the growth in teacher practice and student achievement in high-need schools.

"Louisiana districts have had solid, measurable success with evidence-based practices over multiple years, and this grant will expand that success into new districts," said NIET President Dr. Patrice Pujol. "When I was superintendent of Ascension Public Schools, I saw the benefits firsthand of leveraging best practices and creating a common vision around effective instruction."

About NIET
Equipped with a diverse staff of educators, researchers, and policy experts, NIET is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that pursues a mission to advance educator effectiveness. NIET supports schools, districts, universities, and states with educator evaluation training, evaluator certification modules linked to learning platforms, human capital management systems as well as tools and resources for educator preparation. Learn more at


Principal Omar Duron Wins Arizona Milken Educator Award

Jennifer Williams Surprised with Louisiana Milken Educator Award

2019 Lowell Milken Founder's Award Goes to Wildflower School in Goodyear, AZ

STEM Teacher Nichole Anderson Receives Milken Educator Award

2010-19 Missouri Milken Educator Therese Shain Shares Big News

Angie Beavin wins Milken Educator Award in Kentucky

Erica Stephens Accepting 2018 Tenneesee Milken Educator Award

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins 2018 Milken Award

Kansas 2018 Milken Educator Award Recipient Linda Dishman

West Goshen Elementary School Named 2018 TAP Founder's Award Recipient

Teacher Theresa Cross Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Principal Debreon Davis Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Receives Milken Educator Award

Lisa Rodgers Announced as this year's Colorado Milken Educator Award Recipient

Lowell Milken's James Bryant Conant Award Acceptance Speech

Lowell Milken Congratulates 2015 Milken Educator John Lary

Lowell Milken Speaks at 2015 Chapman University Commencement

Lowell Milken with Students at Friendly House Academia del Pueblo Elementary Charter School

Lowell Milken Keynote Address at 2017 TAP Conference

Felicia Casto wins Milken Educator Award at Rim Rock Elementary

Lowell Milken Speaks with Students at East End Prep in Nashville, TN

Ryan James Presented with 2017 Milken Educator Award in Richmond, Virginia

Lowell Milken, Tom Torlakson and Wayne Jospeh at 2017 Milken Educator Award Presentation

Lowell Milken Accepts 2017 James Bryant Conant Award

Media Interviews at Devon Willis-Jones Milken Educator Awards Assembly


Lowell Milken Presents Music Teacher Nicolas Jacques with Nevada Milken Educator Award

Computer Teacher Nichole Anderson Surprise with Milken Educator Award

Missouri Teacher Therese Shain Receives Milken Educator Award

Angie Beavin Surprised with Kentucky Milken Educator Award

Principal Wendy Shirey Receives Nevada Milken Educator Award

Sarah Szymanski Wins Colorado Milken Award

Math Teacher Erica Stephens Wins Tennessee Milken Award in Memphis, TN

Heather Hurt Announced as 2018-19 Alabama Milken Educator Awardee

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins Milken Award

Perry Township Schools Receives First-Ever National Award of Excellence for Educator Effectiveness

AZ Science Teacher Jonathan Cadena Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Math Teacher Angela Boxie Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Chino Hills Teacher Alexis King Receives 2017 Milken Educator Award

G.W. Carver Primary School Wins 2017 TAP Founder's Award

Arizona Teacher Ana Gutierrez Receives Milken Educator Award

Milken Archive Releases Retrospective Documentary