Press Releases

LMI Sandler Prize for New Entrepreneurs Awarded to Innovative Medical Device Startup

Apr 13, 2016

April 12, 2016: After a public round of competition involving five finalist teams, a panel of distinguished judges announced that the Lowell Milken Institute Sandler Prize for New Entrepreneurs was awarded to pasCARE, an innovative medical device startup.

pasCARE team ucla law
The pasCARE Team after receiving the LMI Sandler Prize.


The 100K award will allow the startup to pursue its goal to improve hospital efficiency and decrease deaths associated with pressure ulcers and lawsuits associated with them. "Each year 60,000 patients in the US die as a direct result of pressure ulcers," said Eric Pan, a current UCLA engineering student, "and our device will provide a new source for patient data to better inform caregivers and provide the highest standard of care for patients."

By combining real-time preventative monitoring of pressure ulcers (also known as bedsores), the pasCARE system notifies nurses and caregivers using a medical devices and digital app when a patient is at risk of developing a pressure ulcer. There is no existing device that provides the dual functionality of individualized patient monitoring of pressure ulcer risk with a notification system. The technology developed by the five-person team of pasCARE represents a strong opportunity to modernize the treatment and prevention of pressure ulcers and also to improve overall patient welfare.


The Lowell Milken Institute-Sandler Prize for New Entrepreneurs is a business plan competition for teams of UCLA students. The prize is $100,000.

Each team must consist of two to six members and must include a current UCLA School of Law 3L student in good standing or a 2015 or 2016 UCLA School of Law graduate. This competition is for any Team that has developed a Startup Business that the Team has already started to build or intends to build within the next 12 months. A Startup Business is any proposed business or existing business, for profit, not-for profit, or public benefit. It is a new, independent venture in seed or startup stages.


Beehive: A Social Intelligence company targeting small to medium businesses. Founded in 2015, the company provides realtime insights into social data to identify loyal customers, discover value-based content and allow its clients to gain strategic insights to apply to their social media campaigns and platforms.

LevelPAC: The first of its kind, LevelPAC is a market-driven, nonpartisan company with a mission to deter Super PAC's from spending money in elections. LevelPAC provides protection for political candidates through insurance policies that pay out at rates as much as two to three times, if a Super PAC spends money against an insured candidate. 

PetSnap: This SaaS "Freemium" cloud platform allows pet owners and veterinarians to collectively manage animal health through a website and app system where all medical records, tests and pet information is collected and available in one profile. The company's mission is to create a platform to make medical decisions for pets and their families more streamlined in order for pets and their owners to live longer, healthier and less stressful lives.

Declipse: Founded by Philip Okwo, who seeks to manage his own struggle with Sickle Cell Disease, Declipse is a social enterprise with a mission to improve health outcomes for the 30 million people who suffer from Sickle Cell Disease through comprehensive, cost-effective nutritional interventions and lifestyle solutions that are customized to the disease's unique metabolic demands.


Lowell Milken: Chairman and Co-Founder of the Milken Family Foundation; UCLA Law Graduate 

Richard Sandler: Executive Vice President of the Milken Family Foundation; UCLA Law Graduate

Julie Schoenfeld: Chief Executive Officer, Strobe, Inc.

Michael Stilton: Managing Director, Act One Ventures; Chair Emeritus, UCLA Venture Fund

Lawrence Vavra: Co-Founder and President, Deckstar Artists Management; UCLA Graduate

Amy Wang: Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Enrou, Inc; UCLA Graduate



Principal Omar Duron Wins Arizona Milken Educator Award

Jennifer Williams Surprised with Louisiana Milken Educator Award

2019 Lowell Milken Founder's Award Goes to Wildflower School in Goodyear, AZ

STEM Teacher Nichole Anderson Receives Milken Educator Award

2010-19 Missouri Milken Educator Therese Shain Shares Big News

Angie Beavin wins Milken Educator Award in Kentucky

Erica Stephens Accepting 2018 Tenneesee Milken Educator Award

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins 2018 Milken Award

Kansas 2018 Milken Educator Award Recipient Linda Dishman

West Goshen Elementary School Named 2018 TAP Founder's Award Recipient

Teacher Theresa Cross Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Principal Debreon Davis Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Receives Milken Educator Award

Lisa Rodgers Announced as this year's Colorado Milken Educator Award Recipient

Lowell Milken's James Bryant Conant Award Acceptance Speech

Lowell Milken Congratulates 2015 Milken Educator John Lary

Lowell Milken Speaks at 2015 Chapman University Commencement

Lowell Milken with Students at Friendly House Academia del Pueblo Elementary Charter School

Lowell Milken Keynote Address at 2017 TAP Conference

Felicia Casto wins Milken Educator Award at Rim Rock Elementary

Lowell Milken Speaks with Students at East End Prep in Nashville, TN

Ryan James Presented with 2017 Milken Educator Award in Richmond, Virginia

Lowell Milken, Tom Torlakson and Wayne Jospeh at 2017 Milken Educator Award Presentation

Lowell Milken Accepts 2017 James Bryant Conant Award

Media Interviews at Devon Willis-Jones Milken Educator Awards Assembly


Lowell Milken Presents Music Teacher Nicolas Jacques with Nevada Milken Educator Award

Computer Teacher Nichole Anderson Surprise with Milken Educator Award

Missouri Teacher Therese Shain Receives Milken Educator Award

Angie Beavin Surprised with Kentucky Milken Educator Award

Principal Wendy Shirey Receives Nevada Milken Educator Award

Sarah Szymanski Wins Colorado Milken Award

Math Teacher Erica Stephens Wins Tennessee Milken Award in Memphis, TN

Heather Hurt Announced as 2018-19 Alabama Milken Educator Awardee

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins Milken Award

Perry Township Schools Receives First-Ever National Award of Excellence for Educator Effectiveness

AZ Science Teacher Jonathan Cadena Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Math Teacher Angela Boxie Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Chino Hills Teacher Alexis King Receives 2017 Milken Educator Award

G.W. Carver Primary School Wins 2017 TAP Founder's Award

Arizona Teacher Ana Gutierrez Receives Milken Educator Award

Milken Archive Releases Retrospective Documentary