Press Releases

Lowell Milken Awarded Honorary Doctorate by Chapman University

May 23, 2015

Chapman lm hd 2015dlmcom

 The international philanthropist and businessman accepted the recognition during commencement ceremonies at George L. Argyros School of Business and Economics.

Alerting graduates to “a seismic shift” underway due to an unprecedented transfer of wealth between generations, Lowell Milken accepted an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters from Chapman University on Saturday, May 23, during commencement ceremonies at the George L. Argyros School of Business and Economics.

The university held Lowell Milken’s career up as a model for the class of 2015, noting more than three decades of visionary contributions as a businessman who has built and led companies worldwide, and as a philanthropist who is chairman and co-founder of the Milken Family Foundation and affiliated philanthropies.

“Lowell Milken’s leadership and dedication to the community embody the values Chapman strives to instill in our students: to live inquiring, ethical and productive lives as global citizens,” said Argyros Dean Reginald Gilyard, recognizing Lowell Milken’s commitment to serving social good through innovative services and education programs.

Dean Gilyard’s remarks touched on Lowell Milken’s auspicious beginnings as “a lifelong scholar who graduated UCLA School of Law with top honors. At UC Berkeley, Lowell graduated summa cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa, and was named the business school’s Most Outstanding Student; A sure sign of things to come,” he noted, citing Milken’s co-founding of Knowledge Universe, a global leader in education, employing more than 30,000 people, for which he currently serves on the board of directors.

Accepting the award at the Holly and David Wilson Field on Chapman University’s campus, Lowell Milken spoke of a unique opportunity in human history for the next generation of business owners, entrepreneurs and philanthropists.

Chapman lm hd 2015 prelease smll
Lowell Milken addresses the 2015 graduating class of the Argyros School of Business and Economics.


“There is, as I stand here, a seismic shift taking place. You do not feel it. But you will. And you’re likely to feel it before many of your peers precisely because of what you’ve studied and learned here at Chapman. For what’s underway is a transfer of wealth. It is the largest in history and it is coming from my generation to yours. Forty trillion dollars’ worth… I dwell on the number for a reason: the hugeness of its potential for transformative good. But I want to stress that potential is realizable only by the people on the receiving end of the transfer; if people of talent devote themselves to using this endowment constructively, imaginatively and well.”

With this in mind, Lowell Milken challenged the graduating class:

“As your career unfolds over the ensuing years, I ask you to consider applying your skills, knowledge and experiences to make the philanthropic sector as responsive to innovation as the private sector… For in this way, you will be able to answer the question, what am I doing in my life to increase the sum of hope in the world?

That question is particularly applicable to Chapman University, which attracts scholars from more than 60 countries to its Orange, California, campus for studies across a range of disciplines. The George L. Argyros School of Business and Economics at Chapman is ranked by U.S. News & World Report as a top 100 institution in the Best Full Time MBA category, with a mission to develop business leaders who create value for their organizations by blending sound economic reasoning and a global perspective with the qualities of individual initiative, analytical skill, accountability, effective communication, and integrity. The Argyros School distinguishes itself by providing students and alumni with unmatched access to exceptional teachers and scholars, a network of top executives, and opportunities for practice-based business education in one of the nation’s most dynamic business communities.

The full transcript of Lowell Milken's commencement remarks are available here.


Principal Omar Duron Wins Arizona Milken Educator Award

Jennifer Williams Surprised with Louisiana Milken Educator Award

2019 Lowell Milken Founder's Award Goes to Wildflower School in Goodyear, AZ

STEM Teacher Nichole Anderson Receives Milken Educator Award

2010-19 Missouri Milken Educator Therese Shain Shares Big News

Angie Beavin wins Milken Educator Award in Kentucky

Erica Stephens Accepting 2018 Tenneesee Milken Educator Award

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins 2018 Milken Award

Kansas 2018 Milken Educator Award Recipient Linda Dishman

West Goshen Elementary School Named 2018 TAP Founder's Award Recipient

Teacher Theresa Cross Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Principal Debreon Davis Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Receives Milken Educator Award

Lisa Rodgers Announced as this year's Colorado Milken Educator Award Recipient

Lowell Milken's James Bryant Conant Award Acceptance Speech

Lowell Milken Congratulates 2015 Milken Educator John Lary

Lowell Milken Speaks at 2015 Chapman University Commencement

Lowell Milken with Students at Friendly House Academia del Pueblo Elementary Charter School

Lowell Milken Keynote Address at 2017 TAP Conference

Felicia Casto wins Milken Educator Award at Rim Rock Elementary

Lowell Milken Speaks with Students at East End Prep in Nashville, TN

Ryan James Presented with 2017 Milken Educator Award in Richmond, Virginia

Lowell Milken, Tom Torlakson and Wayne Jospeh at 2017 Milken Educator Award Presentation

Lowell Milken Accepts 2017 James Bryant Conant Award

Media Interviews at Devon Willis-Jones Milken Educator Awards Assembly


Lowell Milken Presents Music Teacher Nicolas Jacques with Nevada Milken Educator Award

Computer Teacher Nichole Anderson Surprise with Milken Educator Award

Missouri Teacher Therese Shain Receives Milken Educator Award

Angie Beavin Surprised with Kentucky Milken Educator Award

Principal Wendy Shirey Receives Nevada Milken Educator Award

Sarah Szymanski Wins Colorado Milken Award

Math Teacher Erica Stephens Wins Tennessee Milken Award in Memphis, TN

Heather Hurt Announced as 2018-19 Alabama Milken Educator Awardee

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins Milken Award

Perry Township Schools Receives First-Ever National Award of Excellence for Educator Effectiveness

AZ Science Teacher Jonathan Cadena Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Math Teacher Angela Boxie Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Chino Hills Teacher Alexis King Receives 2017 Milken Educator Award

G.W. Carver Primary School Wins 2017 TAP Founder's Award

Arizona Teacher Ana Gutierrez Receives Milken Educator Award

Milken Archive Releases Retrospective Documentary