Press Releases

2013 California “Oscar of Teaching” Presented to Teacher Jennifer Smith

Nov 20, 2013

November 20th, 2013 - At Pioneer Middle School in the Tustin Unified School District,  Jennifer Smith, a science and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) teacher got the surprise of her life when Milken Family Foundation Chairman and Co-Founder Lowell Milken announced her name as the 2013 California Milken Educator Award winner. 

Jennifer Smith was honored in front of more than 1,300 cheering students and colleagues, as well as special guests including State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson.

“Our public education system is at the heart of America’s promise and essential to safeguarding the American dream for future generations,” said Lowell Milken, chairman and co-founder of the Milken Family Foundation.  “With research confirming that effective teachers represent the single most important school-related factor in raising student achievement, it is important to honor them, learn from them, and inspire more capable people to enter the profession.  As the program’s motto extols, the future belongs to the educated.”

Jennifer Smith’s interest-based teaching methods challenge students at Pioneer Middle School in Tustin, California to organize their thoughts, problem solve and then evaluate their decisions or findings. In addition to incorporating technology into her students’ daily activities, Smith embraces the blended learning concept of the “flipped” classroom. With this approach, students watch video lectures (usually at home) and then complete what traditionally would be called homework during class. In this way, she is able to offer more personalized guidance to her students, realizing an estimated 20 percent increase in student achievement for those participating in her flipped lessons.

Smith has always believed in teaching literacy alongside the sciences, emphasizing the connections between math and science, science and technology and why literacy is vital to success – not just at school, but throughout life. To expose her students to a variety of STEM-related careers, she invites parents who are professionals in those fields to speak to her class. Thanks to this strong educational foundation, a large number of Smith’s students have enrolled in the area high schools’ Green Engineering or T-Tech Engineering Academies, and have received college scholarships.

She’s been involved in numerous school and district committees, such as the Distinguished School Committee, the Schools-to-Watch Committee and the Science Achievement Committee.  Additionally, she has been instrumental in developing science and STEM-focused strategic plans. This work has helped the District receive three grants, as well as garner strong interest in advancing the District’s STEM program from prestigious organizations, including the Smithsonian, Beckman Foundation and Science@OC.

Smith was selected by the Tustin Unified School District to represent their STEM program at the Smithsonian Science Strategic Planning Institute in Washington, D.C. When Pioneer School needs someone to give the TUSD Board of Education a teacher’s perspective, Smith is their go-to choice. “Jennifer Smith is a role model in our school district and the education profession. Her unwavering commitment to provide an excellent educational experience for every student inspires, instructs and informs us all,” said Tustin Unified School District Superintendent Dr. Gregory Franklin.

To learn more about Jennifer Smith and all of the latest Milken Educator Award recipients, please visit


Lowell Milken Presents Steven Gamache With Milken Award in New Orleans

Jennifer Williams Surprised with Louisiana Milken Educator Award

2019 Lowell Milken Founder's Award Goes to Wildflower School in Goodyear, AZ

STEM Teacher Nichole Anderson Receives Milken Educator Award

2010-19 Missouri Milken Educator Therese Shain Shares Big News

Angie Beavin wins Milken Educator Award in Kentucky

Erica Stephens Accepting 2018 Tenneesee Milken Educator Award

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins 2018 Milken Award

Kansas 2018 Milken Educator Award Recipient Linda Dishman

West Goshen Elementary School Named 2018 TAP Founder's Award Recipient

Teacher Theresa Cross Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Principal Debreon Davis Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Receives Milken Educator Award

Lisa Rodgers Announced as this year's Colorado Milken Educator Award Recipient

Lowell Milken's James Bryant Conant Award Acceptance Speech

Lowell Milken Congratulates 2015 Milken Educator John Lary

Lowell Milken Speaks at 2015 Chapman University Commencement

Lowell Milken with Students at Friendly House Academia del Pueblo Elementary Charter School

Lowell Milken Keynote Address at 2017 TAP Conference

Felicia Casto wins Milken Educator Award at Rim Rock Elementary

Lowell Milken Speaks with Students at East End Prep in Nashville, TN

Ryan James Presented with 2017 Milken Educator Award in Richmond, Virginia

Lowell Milken, Tom Torlakson and Wayne Jospeh at 2017 Milken Educator Award Presentation

Lowell Milken Accepts 2017 James Bryant Conant Award

Media Interviews at Devon Willis-Jones Milken Educator Awards Assembly


Lowell Milken Presents Music Teacher Nicolas Jacques with Nevada Milken Educator Award

Computer Teacher Nichole Anderson Surprise with Milken Educator Award

Missouri Teacher Therese Shain Receives Milken Educator Award

Angie Beavin Surprised with Kentucky Milken Educator Award

Math Teacher Erica Stephens Wins Tennessee Milken Award in Memphis, TN

Heather Hurt Announced as 2018-19 Alabama Milken Educator Awardee

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins Milken Award

Perry Township Schools Receives First-Ever National Award of Excellence for Educator Effectiveness

AZ Science Teacher Jonathan Cadena Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Math Teacher Angela Boxie Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Chino Hills Teacher Alexis King Receives 2017 Milken Educator Award

G.W. Carver Primary School Wins 2017 TAP Founder's Award

Arizona Teacher Ana Gutierrez Receives Milken Educator Award

Principal Wendy Shirey Receives Nevada Milken Educator Award

Sarah Szymanski Wins Colorado Milken Award