Press Releases

Lowell Milken Center Names 2013 Fellow Marzanna Pogorzelska

Nov 05, 2012

FORT SCOTT, KS - October 29, 2012: The Lowell Milken Center of Fort Scott, Kansas has awarded the first 2013 Lowell Milken Center Fellowship to Marzanna Pogorzelska of Kedzierzyn-Kozle, Poland. Pogorzelska will arrive in Fort Scott on November 4th, 2012, for a week of collaboration with the Lowell Milken Center.

The Milken Fellowship is awarded on the basis of merit to those educators who distinguish themselves in teaching respect and understanding through project-based learning or who have the potential for this distinction. The Center selects the best educators in America and around the world to collaborate on projects that celebrate unsung heroes in history.    

Marzanna has been an extraordinary teacher for almost twenty years. She has received major teaching awards, including one for promoting understanding and tolerance. Her work in social studies and Holocaust education is recognized in a variety different areas.

Project-based learning is her approach to teaching. Her students have developed projects that have been recognized in many areas of Europe. Her teaching of tolerance and equality has set standards for many educators.

Marzanna has a Masters Degree and Ph.D. from Opole University in Poland. Her degrees are in Pedagogical Sciences. She has been a leader in Polish education and has demonstrated a creative and highly academic student curriculum. She has taught secondary students for 18 years in her hometown of Kedzierzyn-Kozle. She has written numerous articles. Marzanna has also received Teacher & Citizen Laureate award from the countries of Poland, France, Germany and Spain. Lowell Milken Center Director, Norm Conard says, “Marzanna is a powerful force in education and inspires a vision of tolerance and change in her students. She is an extraordinary example of the high quality of Lowell Milken Center Fellows.”

The Lowell Milken Center is proud to present this highly noted educator, and we invite you to take this distinctive opportunity to discover how other teachers and students are making a difference in this world in alliance with the true mission of the Lowell Milken Center. The purpose at the Center is to aid in the development of exciting projects that celebrate unsung heroes who have changed history.

For more information, please visit Lowell Milken Center Fellows. The Lowell Milken Center is located at 4 South Main, Fort Scott, KS 66701.


Principal Omar Duron Wins Arizona Milken Educator Award

Jennifer Williams Surprised with Louisiana Milken Educator Award

2019 Lowell Milken Founder's Award Goes to Wildflower School in Goodyear, AZ

STEM Teacher Nichole Anderson Receives Milken Educator Award

2010-19 Missouri Milken Educator Therese Shain Shares Big News

Angie Beavin wins Milken Educator Award in Kentucky

Erica Stephens Accepting 2018 Tenneesee Milken Educator Award

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins 2018 Milken Award

Kansas 2018 Milken Educator Award Recipient Linda Dishman

West Goshen Elementary School Named 2018 TAP Founder's Award Recipient

Teacher Theresa Cross Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Principal Debreon Davis Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Receives Milken Educator Award

Lisa Rodgers Announced as this year's Colorado Milken Educator Award Recipient

Lowell Milken's James Bryant Conant Award Acceptance Speech

Lowell Milken Congratulates 2015 Milken Educator John Lary

Lowell Milken Speaks at 2015 Chapman University Commencement

Lowell Milken with Students at Friendly House Academia del Pueblo Elementary Charter School

Lowell Milken Keynote Address at 2017 TAP Conference

Felicia Casto wins Milken Educator Award at Rim Rock Elementary

Lowell Milken Speaks with Students at East End Prep in Nashville, TN

Ryan James Presented with 2017 Milken Educator Award in Richmond, Virginia

Lowell Milken, Tom Torlakson and Wayne Jospeh at 2017 Milken Educator Award Presentation

Lowell Milken Accepts 2017 James Bryant Conant Award

Media Interviews at Devon Willis-Jones Milken Educator Awards Assembly


Lowell Milken Presents Music Teacher Nicolas Jacques with Nevada Milken Educator Award

Computer Teacher Nichole Anderson Surprise with Milken Educator Award

Missouri Teacher Therese Shain Receives Milken Educator Award

Angie Beavin Surprised with Kentucky Milken Educator Award

Principal Wendy Shirey Receives Nevada Milken Educator Award

Sarah Szymanski Wins Colorado Milken Award

Math Teacher Erica Stephens Wins Tennessee Milken Award in Memphis, TN

Heather Hurt Announced as 2018-19 Alabama Milken Educator Awardee

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins Milken Award

Perry Township Schools Receives First-Ever National Award of Excellence for Educator Effectiveness

AZ Science Teacher Jonathan Cadena Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Math Teacher Angela Boxie Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Chino Hills Teacher Alexis King Receives 2017 Milken Educator Award

G.W. Carver Primary School Wins 2017 TAP Founder's Award

Arizona Teacher Ana Gutierrez Receives Milken Educator Award

Milken Archive Releases Retrospective Documentary