Press Releases

Andrew M. Kaufman named head of UCLA's Lowell Milken Institute for Business Law and Policy

Apr 03, 2012


April 3, 2012, Los Angeles, CA — Andrew M. Kaufman, a professor at Vanderbilt University Law School and formerly a senior transactional partner and now "of counsel" in the Chicago office of Kirkland & Ellis LLP, has been appointed executive director of the Lowell Milken Institute for Business Law and Policy at UCLA School of Law. 

The Lowell Milken Institute was established in 2011 by a $10 million gift from UCLA Law's 2009 Public Service Alumnus of the Year, Lowell Milken '73, a leading philanthropist and pioneer in education reform. 

"We are delighted to welcome Andy Kaufman to UCLA School of Law," said UCLA Law dean Rachel F. Moran. "His real-world experience in practice and his teaching experience in transactional law make him an ideal choice to serve as founding executive director of the Lowell Milken Institute for Business Law and Policy." 

Professor Eric M. Zolt, faculty director of the Lowell Milken Institute, added, "We are excited about the opportunity to work with Andy to make an already excellent business law and policy program even better." 

The Lowell Milken Institute influences the field of business law and policy through innovative research, targeted policy analysis and sophisticated training that prepares UCLA School of Law students to become leaders in an entrepreneurial economy.  

Kaufman, founder and former head of Kirkland & Ellis' debt finance group, received his bachelor's degree (cum laude) from Yale University in 1971 and his law degree from Vanderbilt University Law School in 1974, where he was editor-in-chief of the Vanderbilt Law Review and was elected to Order of the Coif. 

He is presently a member of the TriBar Opinion Committee, a well-respected non-partisan  panel addressing legal opinions in transactional practice,  and serves as program chair for the national Working Group on Legal Opinions.

He is also a member of the Uniform Commercial Code Committee, the Commercial Financial Services Committee, the Legal Opinions Committee and the Audit Responses Committee for the American Bar Association Section of Business Law. 

Kaufman lectures and writes frequently on financing, commercial law and legal-opinion issues at national professional seminars and programs and in related publications. Since 2009, he has been a professor of the practice of law in the law and business program at Vanderbilt University Law School, teaching courses on secured transactions, transactional practice, leveraged buyouts and syndicated loan transactions in commercial lending. At Vanderbilt, he also serves on the dean's board of advisors. 

Kaufman is admitted to practice in Illinois, Texas and Georgia. He and his wife, Michele, will be relocating to Los Angeles later this spring. 

UCLA School of Law, founded in 1949, is the youngest major law school in the nation and has established a tradition of innovation in its approach to teaching, research and scholarship. With approximately 100 faculty and 1,100 students, the school pioneered clinical teaching, is a leader in interdisciplinary research and training, and is at the forefront of efforts to link research to its effects on society and the legal profession. For more information on UCLA School of Law, please visit

For more news, visit the UCLA Newsroom and follow us on Twitter.


Principal Omar Duron Wins Arizona Milken Educator Award

Jennifer Williams Surprised with Louisiana Milken Educator Award

2019 Lowell Milken Founder's Award Goes to Wildflower School in Goodyear, AZ

STEM Teacher Nichole Anderson Receives Milken Educator Award

2010-19 Missouri Milken Educator Therese Shain Shares Big News

Angie Beavin wins Milken Educator Award in Kentucky

Erica Stephens Accepting 2018 Tenneesee Milken Educator Award

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins 2018 Milken Award

Kansas 2018 Milken Educator Award Recipient Linda Dishman

West Goshen Elementary School Named 2018 TAP Founder's Award Recipient

Teacher Theresa Cross Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Principal Debreon Davis Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Receives Milken Educator Award

Lisa Rodgers Announced as this year's Colorado Milken Educator Award Recipient

Lowell Milken's James Bryant Conant Award Acceptance Speech

Lowell Milken Congratulates 2015 Milken Educator John Lary

Lowell Milken Speaks at 2015 Chapman University Commencement

Lowell Milken with Students at Friendly House Academia del Pueblo Elementary Charter School

Lowell Milken Keynote Address at 2017 TAP Conference

Felicia Casto wins Milken Educator Award at Rim Rock Elementary

Lowell Milken Speaks with Students at East End Prep in Nashville, TN

Ryan James Presented with 2017 Milken Educator Award in Richmond, Virginia

Lowell Milken, Tom Torlakson and Wayne Jospeh at 2017 Milken Educator Award Presentation

Lowell Milken Accepts 2017 James Bryant Conant Award

Media Interviews at Devon Willis-Jones Milken Educator Awards Assembly


Lowell Milken Presents Music Teacher Nicolas Jacques with Nevada Milken Educator Award

Computer Teacher Nichole Anderson Surprise with Milken Educator Award

Missouri Teacher Therese Shain Receives Milken Educator Award

Angie Beavin Surprised with Kentucky Milken Educator Award

Principal Wendy Shirey Receives Nevada Milken Educator Award

Sarah Szymanski Wins Colorado Milken Award

Math Teacher Erica Stephens Wins Tennessee Milken Award in Memphis, TN

Heather Hurt Announced as 2018-19 Alabama Milken Educator Awardee

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins Milken Award

Perry Township Schools Receives First-Ever National Award of Excellence for Educator Effectiveness

AZ Science Teacher Jonathan Cadena Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Math Teacher Angela Boxie Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Chino Hills Teacher Alexis King Receives 2017 Milken Educator Award

G.W. Carver Primary School Wins 2017 TAP Founder's Award

Arizona Teacher Ana Gutierrez Receives Milken Educator Award

Milken Archive Releases Retrospective Documentary