2011 Lowell Milken Center Fellow

Jun 25, 2011

The Lowell Milken Center has awarded the third prestigious Lowell Milken Center Fellowship of the year to Stephanie Bishop of Prince George, Virginia. She arrived in Fort Scott on July 10th for a week of collaboration with the Center.

The Lowell Milken Center Fellowship is awarded on the basis of merit to those educators who have distinguished themselves in teaching. The Center selects the best teachers in America to collaborate with on projects that celebrate unsung heroes in history.    

Stephanie graduated from Virginia Tech in 1996, and spent the next ten years at Prince George High SchoolStephanie taught theatre and developed an award-winning theater arts department. While at Prince George, Bishop taught students all aspects of theater, including writing, directing and proper use of voice and diction. Her performance students received many district, state and regional awards. In addition to her accomplishments in drama, Bishop has developed courses and curricula in women's studies and film. In 2001, she was honored with the prestigious Milken Educator Award. Bishop is now the Assistant Vice Principal of J.E.J. Middle School in Prince George.  

She will be working with the performance projects at the Lowell Milken Center and collaborating on future projects. One possibility Bishop will explore is the creation of a performance similar to Life in a Jar, featuring a different unsung hero and time period in history. She will also be available to work with local students.

The Lowell Milken Center is proud to present this highly noted educator, and we invite you to take this distinctive opportunity to discover how other teachers and students are making a difference in this world in alliance with the true mission of the Lowell Milken Center. The purpose at the Center is to celebrate unsung heroes who have changed history.

For more information, please visit and click “Fellows and Interns” for Stephanie’s information. The Lowell Milken Center is located at 4 South Main, Fort Scott, KS 66701.



Principal Omar Duron Wins Arizona Milken Educator Award

Jennifer Williams Surprised with Louisiana Milken Educator Award

2019 Lowell Milken Founder's Award Goes to Wildflower School in Goodyear, AZ

STEM Teacher Nichole Anderson Receives Milken Educator Award

2010-19 Missouri Milken Educator Therese Shain Shares Big News

Angie Beavin wins Milken Educator Award in Kentucky

Erica Stephens Accepting 2018 Tenneesee Milken Educator Award

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins 2018 Milken Award

Kansas 2018 Milken Educator Award Recipient Linda Dishman

West Goshen Elementary School Named 2018 TAP Founder's Award Recipient

Teacher Theresa Cross Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Principal Debreon Davis Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Receives Milken Educator Award

Lisa Rodgers Announced as this year's Colorado Milken Educator Award Recipient

Lowell Milken's James Bryant Conant Award Acceptance Speech

Lowell Milken Congratulates 2015 Milken Educator John Lary

Lowell Milken Speaks at 2015 Chapman University Commencement

Lowell Milken with Students at Friendly House Academia del Pueblo Elementary Charter School

Lowell Milken Keynote Address at 2017 TAP Conference

Felicia Casto wins Milken Educator Award at Rim Rock Elementary

Lowell Milken Speaks with Students at East End Prep in Nashville, TN

Ryan James Presented with 2017 Milken Educator Award in Richmond, Virginia

Lowell Milken, Tom Torlakson and Wayne Jospeh at 2017 Milken Educator Award Presentation

Lowell Milken Accepts 2017 James Bryant Conant Award

Media Interviews at Devon Willis-Jones Milken Educator Awards Assembly


Lowell Milken Presents Music Teacher Nicolas Jacques with Nevada Milken Educator Award

Computer Teacher Nichole Anderson Surprise with Milken Educator Award

Missouri Teacher Therese Shain Receives Milken Educator Award

Angie Beavin Surprised with Kentucky Milken Educator Award

Principal Wendy Shirey Receives Nevada Milken Educator Award

Sarah Szymanski Wins Colorado Milken Award

Math Teacher Erica Stephens Wins Tennessee Milken Award in Memphis, TN

Heather Hurt Announced as 2018-19 Alabama Milken Educator Awardee

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins Milken Award

Perry Township Schools Receives First-Ever National Award of Excellence for Educator Effectiveness

AZ Science Teacher Jonathan Cadena Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Math Teacher Angela Boxie Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Chino Hills Teacher Alexis King Receives 2017 Milken Educator Award

G.W. Carver Primary School Wins 2017 TAP Founder's Award

Arizona Teacher Ana Gutierrez Receives Milken Educator Award

Milken Archive Releases Retrospective Documentary