A Message from Lowell on the Hoffmitz Milken Center for Typography

Dec 02, 2014

Dear friends and colleagues,

I wish to share with you some exciting and meaningful news. The long-envisioned Hoffmitz Milken Center for Typography at Art Center College of Design was officially announced today as an integral part of Art Center College of Design’s mission and strategic plan for the future.

My beloved wife Leah – a world-renowned letterform expert, graphic designer and, perhaps above all, consummate educator and advisor– knew of my commitment and work to establish this Center and was especially pleased to see its evolution. I can imagine no better way to honor Leah’s life’s work than by the contributions this Center will make to elevate the future of typography in the visual universe around us through education and experimentation at the highest levels.

Leah toby hoffmitz lmcom

Leah Hoffmitz Milken

As a former student wrote upon her passing:

"Leah made it clear from the start that while effort is commendable, the world would judge us by our results, the polish of our craft and the sharpness of our thoughts.The next time we confidently stroll into a meeting with a client, the next time we give a lecture, the next time we receive an award, we should remember that we owe the stride in our feet, the clarity of our convictions and the joy of our accomplishments to the efforts of those who guided us."

And on that note, I just want to say, thank you Leah.  We'll keep doing what we love, and we'll be doing it knowing that you helped make that possible.  The mark you painted on all of us will always be there.

To that I would add my thanks to Art Center President Lorne M. Buchman, faculty, students and alumni for this commitment to excellence in the visual culture that impacts us all.

Lowell Milken
Chairman, Lowell Milken Family Foundation


Principal Omar Duron Wins Arizona Milken Educator Award

Jennifer Williams Surprised with Louisiana Milken Educator Award

2019 Lowell Milken Founder's Award Goes to Wildflower School in Goodyear, AZ

STEM Teacher Nichole Anderson Receives Milken Educator Award

2010-19 Missouri Milken Educator Therese Shain Shares Big News

Angie Beavin wins Milken Educator Award in Kentucky

Erica Stephens Accepting 2018 Tenneesee Milken Educator Award

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins 2018 Milken Award

Kansas 2018 Milken Educator Award Recipient Linda Dishman

West Goshen Elementary School Named 2018 TAP Founder's Award Recipient

Teacher Theresa Cross Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Principal Debreon Davis Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Receives Milken Educator Award

Lisa Rodgers Announced as this year's Colorado Milken Educator Award Recipient

Lowell Milken's James Bryant Conant Award Acceptance Speech

Lowell Milken Congratulates 2015 Milken Educator John Lary

Lowell Milken Speaks at 2015 Chapman University Commencement

Lowell Milken with Students at Friendly House Academia del Pueblo Elementary Charter School

Lowell Milken Keynote Address at 2017 TAP Conference

Felicia Casto wins Milken Educator Award at Rim Rock Elementary

Lowell Milken Speaks with Students at East End Prep in Nashville, TN

Ryan James Presented with 2017 Milken Educator Award in Richmond, Virginia

Lowell Milken, Tom Torlakson and Wayne Jospeh at 2017 Milken Educator Award Presentation

Lowell Milken Accepts 2017 James Bryant Conant Award

Media Interviews at Devon Willis-Jones Milken Educator Awards Assembly


Lowell Milken Presents Music Teacher Nicolas Jacques with Nevada Milken Educator Award

Computer Teacher Nichole Anderson Surprise with Milken Educator Award

Missouri Teacher Therese Shain Receives Milken Educator Award

Angie Beavin Surprised with Kentucky Milken Educator Award

Principal Wendy Shirey Receives Nevada Milken Educator Award

Sarah Szymanski Wins Colorado Milken Award

Math Teacher Erica Stephens Wins Tennessee Milken Award in Memphis, TN

Heather Hurt Announced as 2018-19 Alabama Milken Educator Awardee

Oklahoma Kindergarten Teacher Hailey Couch Wins Milken Award

Perry Township Schools Receives First-Ever National Award of Excellence for Educator Effectiveness

AZ Science Teacher Jonathan Cadena Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Math Teacher Angela Boxie Wins Milken Educator Award

Katherine Watkins Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Knoxville Teacher Paula Franklin Surprised with Milken Educator Award

Chino Hills Teacher Alexis King Receives 2017 Milken Educator Award

G.W. Carver Primary School Wins 2017 TAP Founder's Award

Arizona Teacher Ana Gutierrez Receives Milken Educator Award

Milken Archive Releases Retrospective Documentary